Too scared to reach out..

Thoughts from a friend, desperate to reach out but too scared…. 

 ‘Another encounter, a friend stops by, 

I change from my jammies and try not to cry, 

I put on my lip gloss, along with a smile, 

I play perfect hostess as she stays for a while. 

We talk about good times, my chest feels so tight, 

I long to be honest, but I can’t, not tonight. 

We chat over coffee, she can’t see my pain, 

I’m so used to hiding and playing this game. 

I’m drowning in sadness, I don’t let it show, 

Anxiety grips me but she doesn’t know. 

We hug as she’s leaving, my heart breaks some more, 

Alone in depression as I close the door.’

Leave a Reply

